Contact the Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering (MIE)

On This Page

    MIE Office of the Chair

    Office Hours

    • September to June
      Monday to Friday | 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    • July & August
      Monday to Friday | 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

    Additional Info

    Department Chair

    Prof. Markus Bussmann
    Email: markus.bussmann@utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-7198
    Office: 5 King's College Rd, Room MC136
    Web: Prof. Bussmann's faculty profile

    Executive Assistant to the Chair

    Melanie Kenrick
    Email: melanie@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-3042
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC136

    MIE Undergraduate Office

    Office Hours

    Monday, Tuesday and Thursday | 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
    Wednesday and Friday | 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

    Additional Info

    Associate Chair, Undergraduate Studies

    Prof. Michael Gruninger
    Email: gruninger@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-946-8853
    Office: 40 St. George Street, Room BA8122
    Web: Prof. Gruninger's faculty profile

    Manager, Academic Programs

    Carla Baptista
    Email: carla@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-4133
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC108B

    Undergraduate Program Administrator & Academic Advisor

    Gayle Lesmond
    Email: gayle@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-4731
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC109

    • Year 2 student support

    Undergraduate Student Advisor

    Yanna Sventzouris
    Email: yanna@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-2454
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC109

    • Years 3 to 4 student support

    Student Liaison & Undergraduate Coordinator

    George Almaria
    Email: george@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-3052
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC109

    Undergraduate Assistant

    Ziwei Zhao
    Email: ziwei@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-6420
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC109

    Undergraduate Assistant

    Tamara Kvashilava
    Email: tamara@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-6420
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC109

    MIE Graduate Office

    Office Hours

    • Monday to Friday, 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

    Additional Info

    Associate Chair, Graduate Studies

    Prof. Tobin Filleter
    Email: filleter@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-5877
    Office: 170 College Street, Room MB115
    Web: Prof. Filleter's faculty profile

    MEng Program Director

    Prof. Kamran Behdinan
    Email: behdinan@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-946-3631
    Office: 55 St. George St., Room MY529
    Web: Prof. Behdinan's faculty profile

    Manager, Academic Programs

    Carla Baptista
    Email: carla@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-4133
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC108B

    Admissions, MASc/PhD Graduate Program Advisor

    Sandra Borges
    Email: sandra.borges@utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-8823
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC108

    Graduate Program Administrator (acting)

    Jonathan Alexander
    Email: jonathan.alexander@utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-2805
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC108

    Graduate Program Administrator (on leave)

    Celeste Esteves

    MEng Program Advisor

    TBD

    MIE Business Office

    Office Hours

    • September to June
      Monday to Friday | 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    • July & August
      Monday to Friday | 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

    Additional Info

    Director of Administration & Finance

    Elisabete Augusto
    Email: elisabete@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-6005
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC135

    Manager, Research and Finance Administration

    Vanessa Johan
    Email: vanessa@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: Tel: 416-978-3776
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC134

    Senior Financial & Business Administration Officer

    Min Kim
    Email: min@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-5376
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC134

    Financial Administrator (secondment)

    Jonathan Alexander
    Email: jonathan.alexander@utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-2805
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC134

    Financial Administrator

    Victoria Wong
    Email: victoria@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-4807
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC134

    Financial Administrator

    Samuel Woo
    Email: samuel@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-2920
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC134

    Purchasing Coordinator

    William Tomes
    Email: purchasing@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-3399
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC106

    Business Office/Purchasing Assistant

    Farzana Ismail
    Email: farzana@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-3044
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC106

    Payroll Officer

    Cesar Sanches

    Email: cesar@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-0644
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC106

    MIE Business & Research Development

    Office Hours

    • September to June
      Monday to Friday | 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    • July & August
      Monday to Friday | 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

    Additional Info

    Associate Chair, Research

    Prof. Aimy Bazylak
    Email: aimy.bazylak@utoronto.ca
    Web: Prof. A. Bazylak faculty profile

    Business & Research Development Officer

    Marilia Ramos
    Email: marilia@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-6132
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC134

    MIE Operations & Reception

    Office Hours

    • September to June
      Monday to Friday | 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    • July & August
      Monday to Friday | 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

    Additional Info

    Director of Operations

    Joe Baptista
    Email: joe.baptista@utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-946-5516
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC317

    Reception & Office Operations Assistant

    Sue Eccles
    Email: reception@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-3040
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC105

    MIE External Relations & Communications

    Office Hours

    • September to June
      Monday to Friday | 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    • July & August
      Monday to Friday | 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

    Additional Info

    External Relations & Student Life Coordinator

    Kendra Hunter
    Email: hunter@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-5450
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC107

    MIE Computing Services

    Office Hours

    • September to June
      Monday to Friday | 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    • July & August
      Monday to Friday | 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

    Additional Info

    Computing Services Manager

    Oscar del Rio
    Email: oscar@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-8830
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC402B

    Computer System Administrator

    Joey Wong
    Email: joey@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-0807
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC402D

    MIE Undergraduate Laboratory Support

    Office Hours

    • September to June
      Monday to Friday | 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    • July & August
      Monday to Friday | 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

    Laboratory Engineer & Manager

    Tomas Bernreiter
    Email: tom@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-946-8189
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC402A

    Laboratory Technologist

    Osmond Sargeant
    Email: osmond@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-8563
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC402A

    Senior Student Lab Machinist

    Tony Ruberto
    Email: tony@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-0760
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC402A

    MIE Machine Shop

    Office Hours

    Please visit the Machine Shop webpage for current hours of operations and services offered.

    Machine Shop Manager

    Ryan Mendell
    Email: ryan@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-978-6008
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC78

    Leadhand Machinist

    TBD
    Email: TBD
    Tel: 416-946-3358
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC78

    Senior Machinist

    Keith Hockley
    Email: keith@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-946-3358
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC78

    Student Workshop Machinist

    Jeethendra Anayat
    Email: jeeth@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-946-3358
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC78

    Student Workshop Machinist

    Shawn Miehe
    Email: shawn@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-946-3358
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC78

    Apprentice Machinist

    Bernie Li
    Email: bernie@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-946-3358
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC78

    Apprentice Machinist

    Eric Phelps
    Email: eric@mie.utoronto.ca
    Tel: 416-946-3358
    Office: 5 King's College Road, Room MC78

    Visitor Information

    Engineering Tours

    The Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering offers guided tours of the Engineering facilities at our downtown Toronto location on the St. George campus.

    Book your tour »

     

    Transit

    The closest subway stop to Engineering at U of T is Queen's Park Subway Station. Streetcars also run along College Street and Spadina Avenue.

    To visit us by transit, please visit the Toronto Transit Commission (TTC) website »

    Engineering Map

    The Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering is housed within 17 buildings on the St. George Campus on the south side of campus between Spadina Avenue and University Avenue close to College Street.

    View map of the Engineering complex »

     

    University of Toronto Tours

    Walking tours of the St. George campus depart from the Nona Macdonald Visitors Centre, located at 25 King's College Circle. General tours are offered daily Monday through Friday at 11:00 am and 2:00 pm, and on Saturdays and Sundays at 11:00 am.

    Register for a campus tour »

     

    Parking

    The closest underground parking garage to the Engineering Complex is in the Bahen Centre for Information Technology, located at 40 St. George Street. The entrance to the parking garage is accessible from Huron Street.

    More information about parking on the St. George campus »

    University of Toronto Maps

    Explore maps of the St. George, Mississauga and Scarborough Campuses at the University of Toronto.

    View campus maps »

    Buildings with MIE Spaces

    UofTEngineeringComplexMap4

    © 2024 Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering