Important Dates & Deadlines

View all Sessional dates on the School of Graduate Studies website

FALL 2021

Monday, July 19

Registration for Fall 2021 begins - research students may defer fees on ACORN. Registration deadline is September 10.

Wednesday, August 4

6:00 a.m. Registered MIE students may enrol in Fall and Winter courses on ACORN.

Friday, August 27

M.Eng and PhD Flex students should pay tuition fees to ensure registration is processed by September 10, and to avoid cancellation of registration and course enrolment.

  • Allow three days for payment to appear on ROSI.

Monday, September 6

Labour Day - University Closed

Tuesday, September 7

Most graduate courses and seminars begin.

Friday, September 10

Deadline for registration.

  • Late fees will apply after this date.
  • If registration is cancellation due to non-payment, re-enrollment in courses is not guaranteed.

Wednesday, September 15

Deadline to upload final corrected PhD thesis to ProQuest and have clearance form approved by Grad Office to avoid Fall fees.

Monday, September 20

Deadline to add fall courses.

  • Courses that require an ADD form should be requested three days before the School of Graduate Studies' deadline.
  • To add a Reading Course: submit the two forms, signed by the student's supervisor, to the Graduate Office.

Friday, September 25

Deadline to request November convocation for all degree students.

  • This deadline is one week before the School of Graduate Studies' deadline.
  • MASC students who submit their thesis and have clearance form approved by Grad Office by this date will avoid Fall fees.

Monday, October 11

Thanksgiving Day - University Closed

Monday, October 25

Deadline to drop fall courses (without academic penalty).

  • Courses that require a DROP form should be requested three days before the School of Graduate Studies' deadline.

November 30 - December 22

For the last day of Fall classes, consult your instructor.

Friday, December 21

Recommended tuition fee payment deadline for international students registering or starting their program in the Winter session (i.e., those who were not registered in the previous Fall session) to ensure they are covered by UHIP at the beginning of January

  • Allow three days for payment to appear on ROSI.

Winter Break

University closed for the winter break from Wednesday, December 22 to Friday, December 31 inclusive.

WINTER 2022

Monday, January 3

University Re-opens

Monday, January 10

Most graduate courses and seminars begin. See the courses webpage for details

M January 10

M.Eng and PhD Flex students should pay tuition fees to ensure registration is processed by January 24, and to avoid cancellation of registration and course enrolment.

  • Allow three days for payment to appear on ROSI.

Friday, January 14

MASC and M.Eng Students: Deadline to request March or June convocation without payment for Winter term.

  • This deadline is one week before the School of Graduate Studies' deadline.

Friday, January 14

Ph.D. Students: Deadline to request March convocation and to upload final corrected PhD thesis to ProQuest and have clearance form approved by Grad Office to avoid Winter fees.

Monday, January 17

Deadline to add Winter courses.

  • Courses that require an ADD form should be requested three days before the School of Graduate Studies' deadline.
  • To add a Reading Course: submit the two forms, signed by the student's supervisor, to the Graduate Office.

Monday, January 24

Registration deadline for students registering or starting their program in the Winter.

  • Late fees will apply after this date.
  • If registration is cancellation due to non-payment, re-enrollment in courses is not guaranteed.

Sunday, February 20

Deadline to drop Winter courses (without academic penalty).

  • Courses that require a DROP form should be requested three days before the School of Graduate Studies' deadline.

Monday, February 21

Family Day - University Closed

March 29 - April 21

For the last day of Winter classes, consult your instructor.

Friday, April 7

Deadline to request June convocation for all degree students.

  • This deadline is one week before the School of Graduate Studies' deadline.

Thursday, April 14

Grade submission deadline for students graduating in June.

Friday, April 15

University Closed

© 2021 Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering