Three MIE faculty members honoured by the Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering

Each year the Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering (CSME) recognizes deserving mechanical engineering professionals who are members of the CSME with honours and awards. This year, Prof. Sanjeev Chandra (Robert W. Angus Medal), Prof. Patrick Lee (G.H. Duggan Medal) and Prof. Edmond Young (CSME Fellow) are being honoured by the society. The awards ceremony will take place during the CSME International Congress in Charlottetown, PEI in June 2021.

Sanjeev Chandra is the recipient of the 2020 Robert W. Angus medal in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the management and practice of mechanical engineering.  He is known internationally for his research on the dynamics of droplets and sprays and is one of the founders of the Centre for Advanced Coating Technologies. Prof. Chandra has published over 280 papers in referred journals and conference proceedings in the areas of fluid mechanics, heat transfer and materials science. He teaches courses in thermodynamics and heat transfer and has served as visiting professor at universities in the UK, Germany, France, Korea and Singapore.

A fellow of the CSME, Sanjeev has written an undergraduate textbook on thermodynamics and several chapters for books on the subjects of thermal spray coating, heat transfer and sprays. He has been awarded the Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research and the Jules Stachiewicz Medal for outstanding contributions to heat transfer.

Patrick Lee is being honoured with the G.H. Duggan medal for the best paper dealing with the use of advanced materials for structural or mechanical purposes. He is an Assistant Professor and a founding director of the Multifunctional Composites Manufacturing Laboratory and co-director of  the Microcellular Plastics Manufacturing Laboratory. Dr. Lee’s major expertise is in the area of polymer foam processing/characterization, and processing-structure-property relationships of nanocomposites. He has 45 journal papers, 113 refereed conference abstracts/papers, 2 book chapters, and 17 filed/issued patent applications. He is the Principal Investigator or co-PI on domestically and internationally awarded grants from various government agencies and industries.

Among his honors, Dr. Lee received the AKCSE Early Achievement Award in 2019, the US National Science Foundation Early Faculty Career Development Award (NSF CAREER) in 2018, the PPS Morand Lambla award in 2018, the Hanwha Advanced Materials Non-Tenured Faculty Award in 2017, and 3 best paper awards from the Society of Plastics Engineer.

Edmond Young will be inducted as CSME Fellow (FCSME) in recognition of his excellence in mechanical engineering and contributions to the progress of their profession and of society. Prof. Young established and now directs the Laboratory for Integrative Biology and Microengineered Technologies, focusing on research and development of biomicrofluidic systems for cell biology research.

Prof. Young obtained his P.Eng. in Ontario in 2016, and was the recipient of the MIE Early Career Teaching Award in 2015, and the Ontario Early Researcher Award and Connaught New Investigator Award in 2016. He currently holds a Dean’s Catalyst Professorship at the UT Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering.


– Published May 26, 2020 by Lynsey Mellon

© 2024 Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering