Nine MIE students receive 2017 Cressy Awards

April 27, 2017 – Nine MIE students were among 28 from U of T Engineering to receive the 2017 Gordon Cressy Student Leadership Awards at a ceremony held on Tuesday, April 25. This marks the highest number of recipients from the Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering since the program’s creation in 1994.

Each year, the Cressy Awards are presented to graduating students who have made outstanding extracurricular contributions to their college, faculty or school, or to the university as a whole. This year’s U of T Engineering winners joined 191 other students from across the University of Toronto who were honoured for their leadership and commitment to improving the world around them over the course of their degrees.

The awards are named after former U of T Vice-President of Development and University Relations, Gordon Cressy, for his commitment to higher education, and leadership in fundraising and community service. Since their inception, over 3,000 students have received the award.

The MIE recipients are:

  • Rejuana Alam 
  • Daksh Sikri
  • Vinoj Suthakaran
  • Amreen Poonawala
  • Vibhor Sachdeva
  • Anita Tran
  • Kate Lonegan
  • Dawn Virginillo
  • Areeba Zakir

Learn more about them at U of T Engineering News.

© 2021 Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering