Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Distinguished Professor in Plasma Engineering
Director, Centre for Advanced Coatings Technologies (CACT)

Research: Advanced coatings, thermal plasmas; thermal spray coatings; arcs; radio-frequency inductively coupled plasmas; computational fluid dynamics and heat transfer.

Laboratory: Centre for Advanced Coating Technologies (CACT)

Email: | Tel: 416-978-5604 | Office: BA8260

Research Areas

  1. Advanced Manufacturing and Materials Engineering
  2. Thermal and Fluid Sciences Engineering


Dr. Javad Mostaghimi is the Distinguished Professor in Plasma Engineering in the Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering at the University of Toronto and the director of Centre for Advanced Coating Technologies (CACT). He received a BSc degree from Sharif University, Iran, in 1974, and MSc and PhD degrees in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, in 1978 and 1982, respectively. Before joining University of Toronto in 1990, he held positions at Pratt & Whitney Canada, Longueil, Quebec, and the Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Sherbrooke, Sherbrooke, Quebec.

His main research interests are the study of thermal spray coatings, transport phenomena and electromagnetics in thermal plasma sources; in particular, study of the flow, temperature, and electromagnetic fields within arcs and RF inductively coupled plasmas . Professor Mostaghimi has done extensive simulation of the dynamics of droplet impact and solidification in thermal spray processes and automotive spray painting.

Professor Mostaghimi is a fellow of the following professional societies: ASME, ASM, CSME, EIC, CAE, AAAS, and IUPAC. He is a recipient of the 75th Anniversary Medal of the ASME Heat Transfer Division, the recipient of the 2013 Robert W. Angus Medal of the CSME, 2012 Heat Transfer Memorial Award of the ASME, 2011 Jules Stachiewicz Medal of the CSME, 2010 NSERC Brockhouse Canada Prize and the 2009 Engineering Medal in R & D from the Professional Engineers of Ontario.

He is a member of the editorial board of Plasma Chemistry and Plasma Processing and a member of the International Review Board of the Journal of Thermal Spray.