Four MIE faculty and alumna among eight U of T engineers inducted into the Canadian Academy of Engineering

June 8, 2015 — Eight members of the U of T Engineering community have been inducted as fellows of the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE).

Professors Kamran Behdinan (MIE), Greg Evans (ChemE), Vladimiros Papangelakis(ChemE), Michael Sefton (ChemE, IBBME) and Jim Wallace (MIE), along with alumni Pu Chen (MIE MASc 9T3, PhD 9T8) and Anne Sado (IndE 7T7) are among the Academy’s 50 new fellows. Alumnus Norbert Morgenstern (CivE 5T6) was inducted as an honorary fellow.

The CAE comprises the country’s most accomplished engineers, who have demonstrated their dedication to the application of science and engineering principles in the interests of Canada. Fellows of the Academy are nominated and elected by their peers, in view of their distinguished achievements and career-long service to the engineering profession.

“I am delighted so many of our faculty and alumni have been recognized by the Canadian Academy of Engineering for their extraordinary contributions,” said Dean Cristina Amon. “I would like to extend heartfelt congratulations to our honourees. This recognition demonstrates the depth and breadth of their achievements and confirms that U of T engineers are leaders in their fields, both in Canada and around the world.”

Read more at U of T Engineering News.

© 2021 Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering